International Conference_Queering Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies


1-2 June 2018
Faculty of Arts and Humanities, University of Porto

> Presentation

On June 1st and 2nd, 2018, the 4th edition of the Queering International Luso-Afro-Brazilian Studies Colloquium will be held at the Faculty of Arts and Humanities of Porto. This colloquium intends to promote “queer” readings of works of authorship and canonical artists, as well as to recover authors considered “minor” or marginal in the scope of Portuguese, Brazilian and African literature  in the Portuguese cultural expression, of any historical period.
“Queer” will be understood as a useful theoretical tool to debate what escapes the symbolic and social norm, which resists categorization, cultural homogenization, normativity and, in particular, heteronormativity – what Monique Wittig called “Straight Thinking”.
Thus, the present papers will explore the literature or visual arts of Portuguese expression from a theoretical and epistemological perspective centered on the destabilization of the notions of gender identity and sexual orientation, as well as in the deconstruction of the binomial man/woman, nature/culture , sex/gender, hetero/homo, normal/abnormal and public/private. We will try debate the multiple differences generated by categories such as sex, gender, race and ethnicity, which are particularly rooted in the social and cultural practices of our societies.

Working areas proposed:
• Queer bodies, performance and performativity
• “Gender Trouble” in literature, film, theater and visual arts
• Queer readings of literary texts and artistic objects
• Literature and homosexual desire
• Activism and queer artivism
• Queer utopias and spaces of resistance
• Deconstruction of social roles and new sexual identities
• Cyborgs and monsters: hybrids

Free Entry.

Organizing committee
Ana Luísa Amaral (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
Alexandra Moreira da Silva (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris III, France)
Marinela Freitas (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)
Marta Correia (Universidade do Porto, Portugal)

Scientific committee
Fernando Curopos (Université Paris-Sorbonne, France)
Maria Araújo da Silva (Université Paris-Sorbonne, France)
Chatarina Edfeldt (Dalarna University, Sweden)
Anna Klobucka (UMass, Dartmouth, USA)
Alda Lentina (Dalarna University, Sweden)
Paulo Pepe (Queen’s University, Belfast, UK)